Surveyors Registration Board of Victoria
Board Members
Craig Sandy

Mr Sandy, a licensed surveyor, is the Surveyor-General of Victoria, and Chair of the Surveyors Registration Board of Victoria, as such is the primary government authority on surveying and the cadastre.

The Surveyor-General fulfils a range of statutory roles and responsibilities dealing with land and property boundaries.

Mr Sandy is also a member of the following Commissions and Committees in Victoria:

· Registrar of Geographic Names
· Victorian Electoral Boundaries Commission
· Federal Redistribution Committee for Victoria
· Intergovernmental Committee on Surveying and Mapping
· Council of Reciprocating Surveyors Board of Australia and New Zealand

Mr Sandy has a focus on engaging with the surveying profession to develop strategies for meeting the challenges that the current digital environment is creating.

Peter Sullivan

Having commenced the surveying business group of Cardno in 2010, Peter brings 17 years’ experience as a director of Victorian surveying firms, and 40 as a member of the surveying profession in Victoria.

During that time, Peter has represented the profession on many industry related committees, including committees relating to the updating of legislation concerning the governance and regulation of surveying in Victoria. Peter represented the Institution of Surveyors Victoria (ISV) as its president in 2004, was elevated to Fellow of the ISV in 2008, and has held offices within that organisation in every decade since the 1980s.

Peter was licensed in 1981 in the minimum time after completing his Bachelor of Applied Science at RMIT in 1978. Peter was also registered in NSW between 1990 and 1994. Peter has been an active member of the surveying profession continuously since graduation.

Peter is currently an industry member of the Surveyors Registration Board of Victoria nominated by the ISV, and has held positions on the Board as Urban, Rural, Cadastral Law and Professional Assessment Project moderator, convenor of the Further Professional Education or Training committee, member of the Education Accreditation Committee, runs workshops, and has sat on many disciplinary hearings and professional practice interviews. Peter is currently the Board's Cadastral Law Project moderator.

Davood Shojaei

Dr Davood Shojaei is a lecturer in the Department of Infrastructure Engineering at the University of Melbourne. He teaches surveying and Mapping, and Information Visualisation.

Davood completed his PhD in 3D cadastre in the Centre for SDIs and Land Administration at the University of Melbourne in 2014. Previously, he was leading 3D digital cadastre research at Land Use Victoria, within the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning in Melbourne to modernise the current cadastre in Victoria and move towards a 3D digital cadastre.

He has extensive experience over the last 15 years in designing and implementing a variety of research and industry projects, ranging from GIS, cadastre and BIM, to 3D visualisation. Davood has published several articles in high-ranked scientific journals and conferences as well as book chapters relevant to his research.

Colin Hall

Colin is a senior surveyor at Surveyor-General Victoria and is the DELWP licensed surveyor member on the SRBV. He became a licensed surveyor in Victoria in 2000, opting to focus on cadastral surveying after spending the bulk of his early career working on tunneling projects across Melbourne. He also holds a Master of Surveying Science degree from the University of Melbourne in high precision close range photogrammetry.

He has worked in both the private and public sectors in Victoria and has also worked in New South Wales and the United Kingdom. Colin has a deep interest with ambulatory boundaries and has carried out numerous expert witness surveys of the Victorian - New South Wales Murray River State border for cross jurisdiction criminal court cases. He has been involved with complex river boundary determinations and presented at numerous conferences and seminars on the subject.

He enjoys undertaking Crown surveys in rural Victoria and is currently the moderator for the Rural Cadastral Project.

Julie Zhou

Julie Zhou is a barrister of the Victorian Bar, specialising in commercial, employment, and administrative law. She has experience acting in building and construction disputes, disciplinary proceedings and employment disputes.

Before signing the Bar roll, Julie was in-house counsel at state and federal government agencies, as well as at Monash University. She is a member of Liberty Victoria's policy committee and a sessional member of staff at RMIT University, where she teaches postgraduate courses in law from time to time.

Barbara Flett

Barbara is the community member on the SRBV. She is a recently retired public servant with broad experience in government service delivery and regulatory agencies. During her career, she has worked for State and Federal Governments and has also been involved in delivery of major technology transformation projects.

Her experience includes working for the Commonwealth Department of Human Services, the NSW Attorney Generals Department and in Victoria working as Director of Registration and Licensing Services at VicRoads and as Registrar of Birth Deaths and Marriages.

Barbara also spent a number of years in Land Victoria as Director of the Land Registry and Registrar of Titles. During this period she gained extensive knowledge of land administration and the role of cadastral surveying in Victoria.

Vivien Williamson

Vivien is a strategic land use and development planning consultant who has had over thirty years experience as a statutory planner, strategic planner and planning manager in State, regional and local government contexts. She has expertise in strategic land use and development planning, environmental, cultural and recreational planning, as well as economic development and tourism.

Vivien holds a Bachelor of Arts, Diploma of Town and Regional Planning, Diploma of Librarianship and is a member of the Victorian Environmental and Planning Law Association.
Vivien also has extensive experience on a range of community boards and committees of management.

Jason Hay

Jason Hay is a Licensed Surveyor (VIC) and Registered Surveyor (NSW). Jason has over 25 years of experience in the land and building development sectors, he is well known within the metropolitan Melbourne and throughout the northern VIC and southern NSW region. Jason is client and project oriented which is reflected in the successful delivery of a number of large residential land developments, industrial developments, council and water authority infrastructure projects.
Jason has acquired a broad experience in many fields having completed extensive work in large-scale rural and urban cadastral surveying, construction / engineering surveys, residential land and building subdivisions.
Jason is currently the moderator for the Urban Cadastral Project.

Home    |    Sitemap    |    Contact Us    |    For Board Members    |    Copyright    |    Privacy    |    Disclaimer    |    Surveyor / Graduate Login